Editorial Team

Amy Burke is an associate professor in the Department of Literacy and Learning at Texas Woman's University. She holds a PhD from The University of Texas at Austin in Curriculum and Instruction with a specialization in Language and Literacy Studies and is a teacher consultant with the National Writing Project (Heart of Texas Writing Project). Dr. Burke regularly presents her scholarly work at conferences including the Literacy Research Association (LRA), AERA, and NCTE. Her work has been published in journals such as Language Arts and Literacy Research and Instruction


Elizabeth L. (Betsy) Kaye is an associate professor in the Department of Literacy and Learning at Texas Woman’s University. She has 18 years of public school experience, serving as a special education teacher, classroom teacher, reading interventionist and district literacy staff developer. She holds a PhD in Reading Education and is actively involved as a Reading Recovery trainer in addition to teaching undergraduate and graduate students.  Dr. Kaye regularly collaborates with teachers and district leaders to support literacy learners in elementary schools.


Mary Amanda (Mandy) Stewart is an associate professor in the Department of Literacy and Learning at Texas Woman’s University. Through the National Writing Project and the federally-funded ELLevate! grant, she  regularly learns with/from multilingual high school students while supporting their teachers.  She has authored two books about teaching adolescents acquiring English and leveraging their strengths. 


Editorial Review Board

Juan J. Araujo, Texas A & M University-Commerce

Alexandra Babino, Texas A & M University-Commerce

Allison Briceño, San Jose State University

Connie Briggs, Texas Woman's University

Betty Coneway, West Texas A&M University

Annamary Consalvo, The University of Texas at Tyler

Ann D. David, University of the Incarnate Word

Nichelle DeVaughn, University of North Texas

Maria E. Diaz, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Kathryn Dixon, Texas A & M University-Commerce

Jorge Figueroa, Texas Woman's University

Ricardo González-Carriedo, University of North Texas

Robert Griffin, University of West Georgia

Stephanie Grote-Garcia, University of the Incarnate Word

Dan Heiman, University of North Texas

Kent Layton, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Katrena Leininger, University of Wisconsin OshKosh

LaShera McElhany, Southwestern Assemblies of God University

Michael Nelson, Kentucky Wesleyan College

Mariannella Nuñez, Texas Woman’s University

Jodi Pilgrim, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

John M. Ponder, University of West Georgia

April Sanders, Spring Hill College

Bethany Scullin, University of West Georgia

Anne Simpson, Texas Woman’s University 

Patsy Sosa-Sánchez, University of North Texas, Dallas

Amanda Szwed, Purdue University

Lori Taylor, University of Maine

Annette Torres Elías, Texas Woman’s University

Nancy K. Votteler, Sam Houston State University

Patricia Watson, Texas Woman’s University

Melody Zoch, The University of North Carolina, Greensboro